close
BSA-FAS, Publications FAS,

werk, bauen + wohnen 9-2018

werk, bauen + wohnen 9-2018

Insular Urbanism in the Garden City?

Zurich is building itself anew: in the city’s residential districts dozens of housing developments are being demolished and replaced – often by buildings of exceptional quality; smaller new replacement buildings are already scattered throughout the entire urban area. Such replacements accelerate the process of social change, which is affecting Zurich, like all other cities: the population is becoming younger, with more children, and more educated; socially weaker groups are losing out.
Designing an entire new housing development is a challenge of urban dimensions which, compared to cities with a more small scale property ownership structure, offers unique potential. However, in Zurich this poten tial is not being sufficiently exploited, as so far planning has always stopped at the plot bound ary. In this perspective the street, and with it the city, stands at the edge of the perimeter, whereas from an urban planning viewpoint it should be precisely the other way around! But to arrive at a view that would accept increased density as urbanization the prerequisites in terms of construction and planning legislation are lacking. As long as every new development is planned as an island in a vast archipelago nothing can be changed as regards the neglect of the greater whole.
We argue the case for a massive widening of planning horizons in the future: why not create planning zones for quarters in a state of change that would allow a certain coordination of the individual projects? And, are all the building regulations that date from the era of garden city concepts – front garden building lines, regulations about distances – still appropriate today? Given the density required do they not excessively restrict room for manoeuver at the cost of usable outdoor spaces? And what if district streets were planned as public open spaces extending from facade to facade and includ-ng the present-day front gardens? In the next twenty years the concern should be to develop not just strong settlements but also strong urban neighborhoods. In this regard much re mains to be done.
And we draw attention to the fact that a major part of the old and by now inexpen sive housing stock is urgently needed in the long term, so that older and younger people and lower earners can still find their place in the city. It is desirable that a serious look should again be taken at gentle renewal without improvements to comfort levels – otherwise the city will grad ually lose its diversity and its soul. — Daniel Kurz

Schliessen
BSA-FAS, Publikationen BSA,

werk, bauen + wohnen 9-2018

werk, bauen + wohnen 9-2018

Inselurbanismus in der Gartenstadt?

Zürich baut sich neu: In den Wohnquartieren sind Siedlungen zu Dutzenden abgebrochen und – in oft herausragender Qualität – neu erstellt worden; das ganze Stadtgebiet ist mittlerweile gesprenkelt mit Ersatzneubauten jeder Grösse. Der Ersatzwohnbau beschleunigt die soziale Umwälzung in der Stadt: Die Bevölkerung wird jünger und kinderreicher; sozial schwächere Gruppen haben das Nachsehen.
Eine ganze Wohnsiedlung neu konzipieren zu können, ist eine Herausforderung von städtebaulicher Dimension, die im Vergleich zu kleinteiligerem Immobilienbesitz einmalige Potenziale bietet. Dieser Planungsspielraum wird in Zürich jedoch noch zu wenig genutzt, denn bislang macht die Planung fast immer an der Arealgrenze Halt. Die Strasse, und damit die Stadt, liegt in dieser Perspektive am Rand des Perimeters – aus städtebaulicher Sicht müsste es gerade umgekehrt sein! Doch für einen Blick, der Verdichtung auch als Verstädterung akzeptieren würde, fehlen die bau- und planungsrechtlichen Voraussetzungen. Solange jede neue Siedlung als Insel in einem unüberschaubaren Archipel geplant wird, kann sich an der Vernachlässigung des grösseren Ganzen nichts ändern.
Wir plädieren dafür, den planerischen Horizont künftig massiv zu erweitern: Warum werden für Quartiere im Wandel nicht Planungszonen erlassen, die eine gewisse Koordination der Einzelprojekte ermöglichen? Und sind all die Bauvorschriften aus der Epoche des Gartenstadtdenkens – Vorgartenbaulinien, Abstandsregeln, Mehrlängenzuschläge – heute noch zeitgemäss? Beengen sie die Spielräume bei  den geforderten Dichten nicht zu sehr auf Kosten brauchbarer Freiräume? Und was wäre, wenn Quartierstrassen von Fassade zu Fassade, mit Einschluss der heutigen Vorgärten, als öffentliche Freiräume gestaltet würden? In den kommenden zwanzig Jahren sollte es darum gehen, nicht nur starke Siedlungen, sondern starke Stadtquartiere entstehen zu lassen. Da bleibt noch viel zu tun.
Und wir erinnern: Ein grosser Teil der alten, inzwischen preiswerten Wohnungsbestände wird auch längerfristig dringend benötigt. Damit junge und ältere Menschen oder Kleinverdiener weiterhin in der Stadt Platz finden. Es ist zu wünschen, dass sanfte Instandsetzungen ohne Komfortverbesserung wieder häufiger ernsthaft geprüft werden – sonst verliert die Stadt allmählich ihre Diversität und damit ihre Seele. — Daniel Kurz